Do we just sit and wait when KuduClub steals from us?

Nambabwe realized that his KuduClub(.com) (or is it RugbyZone.com now?) subscription has ran out, since the credit card expired.

What would you expect to pay?

What would you expect to pay?

So he decided to renew and save some money by taking the $99.50 yearly fee instead of the monthly $9.95, which is $119.40…so after going through the whole CC update (plus some more Firefox vs IE battles), etc, etc, finally the cart shows $119.40 for the total even though the product he selected was Gold Membership $99.50. What the heck, empty cart, retry, same thing, empty cart, same thing…so let’s ask Customer Support first, since these foreign-country-money-with-credit-card-transactions can get ugly quickly!

So on February 21, 2009 at +-10:30 CST GMT-6, in the online live help with, of course, the real name of the Support Agent changed to protect we know who…(do we, really?)

An agent will be with you shortly. Thank you for waiting!

You have been connected to Sarah.

Sarah: Hello! Thank you for contacting KuduClub Live Support. How may I assist you today?

Nambabwe: Yes, trying to buy the $99.50 plan, but getting charged $119.40?

…long moment…

Nambabwe: Anybody home?

…long moment…

Sarah: One moment please.

Nambabwe: No problem…

…long moment…

Sarah: The costs of Gold Membership = $9.95 per month and the Gold Membership for = $99.50 per year

Sarah: Even though it is showing $119.40 but you will be charged only 99.50 USD.

Nambabwe: Now how does THAT work?

Sarah: The system is set in a such a way that you will be charged only 99.50 USD

Nambabwe: Is this how ALL clients are confused?

Nambabwe: So can you please ask them to set the system up to SHOW 99.50?

Nambabwe: I just don’t want to spend another 3 hours on the “system” to get a refund in a month when the cc statement shows $119-40!!!

Sarah: Sure, we will look at this matter.

Nambabwe: Thank you, how do I add the “item” back into my cart again, it has expired due to inactivity, but it is still shown…even more confusing?

Sarah: One moment please.

…long moment…

Nambabwe: your “system” also just emailed me: “Your American Express account ending in 1003 has been billed 119.40 USD”

…long moment…

Sarah: It is already done Nambabwe.

Sarah: Please wait for 24 hrs to get settled your purchase.

Nambabwe: yes, done with 119.40? or 99.50?

Sarah: Currently it is showing 119.4 USD.

Sarah: But we will look after this.

Nambabwe: Which is horribly wrong!

Nambabwe: And how would I know that is was looked after properly?

…long moment…

Sarah: Sorry, but we will check this out once your purchase get settled.

Nambabwe: I am not sure what “settled” means?

Sarah: I mean when your purchase gets complete.

Nambabwe: I just told you before I made the purchase that I don’t want to spend time on fixing this…it is not as if the “system” changed this morning…it must have been like this for a while!

Sarah: Or approved by your bank.

Nambabwe: Well, I guess I am stuck with the bill and you need to tell the same story to the next customer, so thank for not being able to help me.

Sarah: If we will not be able to solve this we will refund your amount to you credit card.

Sarah: So please let us know once your subscription get settled.

Nambabwe: You see, there is the problem…you said YOU would look into it, but now it is on ME to do the watching and then CONTACT you again…

Nambabwe: do you see the fun in this?

Nambabwe: Have a splendid weekend!!!

Sarah: Sorry as the account is not settled I am not able to refund.

Sarah: Please send a mail and it will taken care immediately.

Sarah: Or else please contact us back after sometime.

Sarah: Or else give me a moment.

Sarah: I will try to cancel your order.

Nambabwe: It is not about the refund, it is about the “Sorry, we will check this out”

Nambabwe: No, no need to cancel, just ensure that the amount charged is $99.50

Sarah: Why I was saying this is until unless your purchase is settled we can’t check whether you got the discount or not.

Sarah: So if you want you can wait for a while and contact us back through mail/chat.

Sarah: Or else I can go head and try to cancel your order.

Sarah: Please let me know what you would like to do.

Nambabwe: Yes, I know, but you said “we will check this out”, and not “Sir, keep an eye on your credit card account and spend two more days to get the discount refunded”

Sarah: Please let me know what you would like to do, wait for a while and check your account back with us.

Sarah: Or you want me to cancel your order.

Sarah: Please understand that until the purchase gets setteld

Sarah: we will not be able to confirm that you got the discount or not.

Nambabwe: I’ve already asked not to cancel…so please tell you manager to get the “system” updated and then I will call back in to let you know if I was overcharged.

Nambabwe: I am not sure I understand the “discount” part now, it is advertised as $99-50 for new clients AND people who want to upgrade?

Nambabwe: It did not seem to be $119-40 and maybe a discount later situation?

Nambabwe: So I guess you need to talk to marketing too!

========================================

Two weeks later, sure, credit card statement show $119.40!!! (what were you thinking???)

So on March 7, 2009 at 21:00 CST GMT-6 (of course already filled in all the online complaint forms and replied to the previous email from higher level support where they only mention that they will look into it)

An agent will be with you shortly. Thank you for waiting!

You have been connected to Sarah.

Sarah: Hello! Thank you for contacting KuduClub Live Support. How may I assist you today?

Nambabwe: Account overcharged? (CC shows $119-40)

Sarah: One moment please. While I check into your account details.

…long moment…

Sarah: Sorry to say but you have been charged only once for the Gold Membership.

Sarah: On February 21, 2009.

Nambabwe: I quote: Sarah: Even though it is showing $119.40 but you will be charged only 99.50 USD.

Nambabwe: How coincidental that I am talking to you again!

Nambabwe: 1) You claimed I would be charged $99, 2) you said you would look into it, 3) you said the system just shows 119, but will charge 99, 4) (then) you said i need to monitor my CC 5) and I would (easily) get a refund!

Sarah: Sorry for the inconvenience but I would request you to send a mail regarding this issue.

…long moment…

Sarah: Yes, you are right.

Nambabwe: well, well, well, now we are at the point where you confirm that I will need to spend DAYS getting the extra money back!!!

Sarah: Sorry for that Nambabwe, we got you mail and we will check this out as soon as possible.

Nambabwe: And how soon might that be?

…long moment…

Sarah: It might take 24 hrs.

Sarah: please give us some more time to look into your matter.

Nambabwe: Sarah, please answer this, “Am I the only customer in the world who picked up on this bug in your system?”

Sarah: Sorry Nambabwe, I didnt mean that.

Nambabwe: Did not mean what?

Sarah: But I asure you that your problem will be solve soon.

Nambabwe: Can you answer my question please?

Sarah: Yes, please go ahead.

Nambabwe: Am I the only customer in the world who picked up on this bug in your system?

Sarah: Please understand Nambabwe, we have received your mail and it will handle by our higher level support,and they will look into your issue and reply to you back. Thank you for understanding.

Nambabwe: I don’t understand! Sorry! I made you aware of the problem on Feb 21, you acknowledged that the system had a bug, even offered to look into it, and know you promise that “my problem” which it is not, would be looked into as well?!?

Nambabwe: If I am the only one in the world who this has happened to, I can understand that it might take some time to investigate, but if I am not, then by now you should have an instant “refund-the-difference” procedure in place to send money back within (like) 1 hour…it is not that difficult!

Nambabwe: Also you claim “It might take 24 hrs.”, but if level higher up only comes to work on Monday, then that is a very, very bad lie to say 24 hours, since Monday is a little further away!!

Sarah: I can understand your concern Nambabwe, but there are few more customers who are facing the same problem. And we have already forwarded this issue to our higher level support.

Sarah: They will get back to you soon with the resolution.

Nambabwe: So even though you have forwarded the issue to higher level support, let’s say a week ago, you expect them to help me within 24 hours?

Sarah: I mentioned to you that it will take 24 hrs to resolve the issue.

Sarah: Normally it will take minimum of 24 hrs.

Nambabwe: Do you know how badly this look for KuduClub? And South Africa?

…long moment…

…long moment…

…long moment…

Sarah: I can understand you frustration Nambabwe

Sarah: But we will work to improve our service.

Nambabwe: Sarah, I don’t have a problem with the “service”, I have a problem with the “taking, lets call it stealing money” from people, in broad daylight!

Nambabwe: A customer walks into a store, wants to buy a R1000 item, walks over to the cash register, hands over a credit card, and needs to sign for R1200 on the receipt (but halts and ask the shopkeeper, why the difference), shopkeeper says, “sorry, bug in the system, will fix it and charge you R1000, and since you are concerned, we’ll look into it)

Sarah: Sorry Nambabwe, as soon as this issue is be resolved, your over charged money will be credited back to your account.

Nambabwe: customer : are you sure? shopkeeper says, don’t worry, just keep an eye on your statement, we’ll fix it later if we robbed you!

Nambabwe: and then the customer reads his statement, charged R1200 and the shopkeeper says, don’t worry, we’ll look into it…soon, within 24hours…but sorry no, it is (for) the higher ups (to decide), so more than 24hours…customer has to wonder “is that 24+hrs to admit that it was R200? or is that 24+hrs to get R200 back?”

Sarah: As I mentioned to your earlier that you will be revert back on your credit card.

Sarah: Please give us some time to do that.

Nambabwe: Sarah, you also mentioned on the 21st of February, that I will only be charged $99.50, why would I believe you know?

Nambabwe: If I walk back to any store with a problem like this, they refund the difference right there on the spot, within 5 minutes and if it takes some paperwork, within the hour, just like to charge $1000 on a credit card, with the same speed can you refund $50 to the same card.

Nambabwe: but here (with the problem KNOWN, and from other customers) it takes 24+hrs to REASEARCH the problem first, even though it is KNOWN!

Sarah: Since we have received the payment only through online, It will take some time, I hope you understand this.

Nambabwe: My card was charged on the (same) 21st, (and) that was online too!

Sarah: Thats what I mean. So please understand it will take some time to rectify from our end as well as from your bank.

Sarah: The process will be long compare to the cash payment.

Nambabwe: So for every CC transaction, charging or refunding, there is a receipt, or proof of charge, once you process it on your side, you can send me proof, regardless of when the bank decide to show it.

Nambabwe: How do you track this “long” process?

…long moment…

…long moment…

Sarah: Please give us some time to rectify this issue.

Nambabwe: How much time do you need?

…long moment…

…long moment…

Sarah: Sorry Nambabwe, I have provided all information, i have no other alternative but to disconnected this chat, I would kindly request you to wait until out higher support reply your mail. Thank you.

Nambabwe: Who do I contact to get more information?

Sarah: You can send a mail .

Nambabwe: Which goes to you?

Sarah: At “support@rugbyzone.com”.

Nambabwe: ?? rugbyzone ??

Sarah: Yes.

Nambabwe: What is the process to get a full refund?

Sarah: Please mention the request in details on your mail.

Nambabwe: Thank you

Sarah: You’re welcome. And sorry for the inconvenice again.
Your session has ended. You may now close this window.

Sarah: Thank you for contacting Live Support. Have a great day!

(Now what do you do? Is this simply the inability of a developing country (come on, we all know SA is at par when it comes to this class of technology) or is it a monopoly stealing in the open? or just the arogance of corporate business which got caught somewhere else to bring us into the current state of economic crisis??? Nambabwe is, after this, NOT willing to mention KuduClub to anyone in any positive way, sorry)

===================================

So March 08, 2009 @ 18:00 CST (Higher-up Support emailed back with a one liner: “No overcharges or duplicate charges to your account, contact LIVE SUPPORT) (3 little …’s represent 30 seconds on the clock, to maybe see if we could get some faster response from the LIVE part!)

An agent will be with you shortly. Thank you for waiting!

You have been connected to Kudu Danman.

Kudu Danman: Hello! Thank you for contacting KuduClub Live Support. How may I assist you today?

Nambabwe: Danman?

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman: How may I assist you today?

Nambabwe: What can you tell me about the charges on my account?

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman: One moment please.

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman: I’m sorry but you are billed for one year which is 119.40 USD but not 99.50 USD because you are an existing customer. 99.50 USD is billed only to new user who join KuduClub for the first time as an offer.

Nambabwe: It is not what the “upgrade” pricing show, and showED, when I renewed.

Kudu Danman: That is, the offer for joining KuduClub for the first time is 2 months free which is 10+2 for 99.50 USD.

Nambabwe: It is not what the pricing show today on upgrading either.

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: It has also been promoted as “make a smaller ontime payment and save money”, that is not what 119.40 is.

Nambabwe: where ontime=onetime

Kudu Danman: I’m sorry for the inconvenience caused but 119.40 USD is what is charged for all the existing customer or user of KuduClub.

Nambabwe: It is not an inconvenience, it is plain wrong to charge 119.40 for something that was presented to me and selected by me as 99.50.

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: Customer Support told me before I hit the “submit” button on Feb 21st, that the 119.40 was a”bug” in the system, and that I would only be charged 99.50

Kudu Danman: I’m sorry but there is nothing that I can do in this regard so please send your query or feedback to “support@kuduclub.com” and I assured you that it will be taken care of by the higher authorities.

Nambabwe: Higher Authorities just send me an email to contact you.

Nambabwe: That is not “be taken care of”!

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: Can you cancel my account and refund my 119.40?

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman: I’m sorry but I am not authorized to give you a refund so please send your request for the refund to the above email address. Thank you!

So I guess we will need to send a few emails now to cancel, since the $119.40 is nowhere documented to the purchasing publicwhile purchasing the $99.50 Membership

===========================================

On March 09, 2009 @ 19:30 CST, After three cancellation request emails to support@kuduclub.com and no response in 25 hours. (by now we also know from talking to 2 other KuduClub members that they’ve been unsuccessful in canceling their membership and that you basically have to wait for your credit card to expire to stop the monthly charges being charged, but Nambabwe was under the impression that the $99.50 was the one time payment a year to save some money, so waiting for the expiration of the card is a little much) (Agents switched at the start of the conversation and tried to point to Topic 7 in their FAQ … which sadly, still does not mention $119.40, and never was there and indication to go to Topic 7 before purchasing the $99.50 Gold Membership) (Again every 30 seconds a …, but this one went rather quick!)

Also note that yesterday it was NOT possible to cancel in the LIVE CHAT, but today quite easy…

An agent will be with you shortly. Thank you for waiting!

You have been connected to Kudu Danman.

Kudu Danman: Hello! Thank you for contacting KuduClub Live Support. How may I assist you today?

Nambabwe: Hallo Kudu, I’ve send emails to support and online web submissions, but no feedback in the last 25 hours on how to cancel the membership!

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman: One moment please.

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel has entered the session.

Nambabwe: …

Kudu Danman has left the session.

Nambabwe: Welcome Agent Cancel!

Agent Cancel: Please wait for a moment, I am looking into your account details.

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel: Please wait for a moment

Nambabwe: no problem…

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel: I reviewed your account details, I see that you have purchased KuduClub annual subscription. Do you want me to cancel your subscription?

Nambabwe: Yes please, but with the full refund, as I was assured.

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel: Could you please tell me the reason you’re asking for the refund?

Nambabwe: $119.40 is not $99.50

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel: Sorry, you have upgraded your subscription from monthly to annual so that it is charged $119.40.

Agent Cancel: We would suggest you to check with the following link for more information : http://www.kuduclub.com/FAQ.aspx?TopicId=118#Topic_7

Nambabwe: No, I selected a $99.50 product on the upgrade screen, notified one of your co workers before purchasing it and was told that it is a bug in the system and would only be charged only $99.50, and will get the difference if it was $119.40, or a full refund if not possible.

Nambabwe: I also asked other KuduClub members to look into the matter, and they were also presented with a $99.50 choice.

Nambabwe: So instead of playing one more day cat and mouse between online chat and higher level support, my reason for cancellation is that I was decevied and want to end my relationship with KuduClub, please.

Nambabwe: …

Agent Cancel: Sorry. as you said there is no bug in our billing system, as I said before it is billed $119.40 because you’re already have monthly gold subscription and upgraded to annual subscription.

Agent Cancel: Please make sure that If I refund you your subscription will be disconnected.

Agent Cancel: Hello, are you there?

Nambabwe: Yes

Agent Cancel: Please make sure that If I refund you your subscription will bedisconnected?

Agent Cancel: Do you want me to do that?

Nambabwe: Now how else would it work?

Nambabwe: I just need to make sure that you are going to refund $119.40.

Agent Cancel: One moment please. I’ll refund and disconnect your subscription.

Nambabwe: Thank you

Agent Cancel: I’ve just refunded your purchase. Please allow five to fifteen business days for this transaction to post to the credit card you used when making your purchase. If you have any concerns, please let us know.

Agent Cancel: Is there anything else I may assist you with today?

Nambabwe: Do you know the refund amount?

Agent Cancel: It is $119.40.

Nambabwe: Thank you!

Agent Cancel: You’re welcome.
Your session has ended. You may now close this window.

Agent Cancel: Thank you for contacting Live Support. Have a great day!

So I guess Nambabwe has to wait 15 (working) days and then start KuduClub live chat all the way up again…or hopefully NOT!

~ by nambabwe on 2009/03/08.

7 Responses to “Do we just sit and wait when KuduClub steals from us?”

  1. If you originally subscribed to KuduClub to watch sports (and specifically rugby) I just want to mention that there are websites on the Net where you can watch live broadcasts for free.

  2. Boerinballingskap, tell us where, if you don’t mind!

  3. I watch the rugby and other sports here

  4. Nambabwe! waar kyk ons nou die rugby verniet?

  5. I agree with Boer Those free sites are way better than struggling with Kudu and there you can watch live broadcasts!

  6. Here is the link again:

    http://www.myp2p.eu/competition.php?competitionid=&part=sports&discipline=other

  7. If only more people would read this.

Leave a Reply

 
